Sea Level Used To Be Ten Feet Higher And The Arctic Was Ice Free

A reminder that there was a time when scientists actually did science.

ScreenHunter_75 May. 10 02.44

09 Mar 1926 – CHANGES IN CLIMATE

About Tony Heller

Just having fun
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sea Level Used To Be Ten Feet Higher And The Arctic Was Ice Free

  1. F. Guimaraes says:

    The reason of the fall off of the “supply of heat” is that the Sun started 3,000 years ago the preparation for the next hibernation, that will bring the next glacial period for us on Earth. All that’s left to “decide” is when the sudden abrupt dive will begin.

  2. “Science” is adherence to solid, objective evidence, not speculation. The only evidence mentioned in that newspaper article is of former beaches worldwide indicating 10 ft. higher sea level c. 1500 BC–all the rest is pure speculation, and very likely entirely wrong. Climate science is not the only incompetent area of science today; all the earth and life sciences are fundamentally wrong, as is the uniformitarian, undirected evolution paradigm underlying all of them.

    • F. Guimaraes says:

      They had less data back then, that’s the basic problem. His statement about “sun’s spottedness” and increased icecap is naive, but even good science at some point always has some speculation that, nonetheless, should be guided by objective data.

  3. pyeatte says:

    It is like the left has got a new God – the carbon God. Whittaker Chambers was right.

  4. Doug Proctor says:

    In August, 2009 I was in Churchill, Manitoba, on the shores of Hudson Bay at the entrance of the Churchill River to Hudson Bay. I rented an old F150 pickup truck and drove myself around looking at the various sites and – because I’m a geologist – outcrop of various rock. (Ordovician, shallow ocean, carbonates lie almost flat along the shoreline in contact with PreCambrian gneisses almost as they did 500 million years ago. Except for the cold and the scrub-brush that exists there now, the image of rock-too-watere is the same as it was so long ago, a strange concept to think about and to see). What happened then is a result, I suspect of what this article is about.

    You don’t wander around Churchill. Ever. Because there are always polar bears wandering around, and though they generally aren’t interested in eating you, an occassional one is. So you drive around and look over your shoulder all the time if you get out for any reason. Polar bears, despite their size and colour, flatten themselves out, lie still and disappear into the landscape. So you are always on edge, and, preferably, always within leaping distance of your truck or large calibre weapons. I wanted to see the shoreline but recognized that the coarse gravel and sand of the beach would suck the truck in. So I drove up a bit of trail to a flat spot about – you guessed it – 10 feet above the current sea. Whereupon I saw a pleasant sand and gravel area to park on and check out the sights.

    Into which I immediately sank because this was an elevated, old beach.

    I was done. Half a mile from the village of Churchill, by myself without anyone knowing where I was, as evening approached, in a shallow rock ridge and intervening scrub thicket confusion, where the polar bears congregate until the Churchill River freezes enough for them to walk across (they could swim, but by waiting until freeze-up the distant lands are covered in snow and easy walking).

    So I abandoned the truck – no need to lock it. And hoofed it across the countryside, going from ridge to ridge AFTER crossing through these vegetation-choked depressions perfect for keeping a hot polar bear cooler. Perhaps it was only 20 minutes. Not by adrenalin-time. I went to the first public place I saw, a restaurant just opening, dodged in and the owner told me I looked like I needed a drink. Then we phoned around and got a towtruck. An hour later, after asking me what I thought I was doing getting stuck in the middle of polar bear country without a phone – no easy answer therre – and laughing at how the woman described my mental state – he pulled me free, took the extra cash I was happy to give him, and headed back to my hotel.

    All because, long ago, the sea-level used to be 10 feet higher.

    P.S. In case people think that this is a “regional” rise: I was in Abu Dhabi last year, and investigated the 2-3m higher beach dunes and washover foreshore sediments several kilometers inland of the current Gulf waters. The former highstand is similarly dated. In the case of Hudson Bay, it is supposed to be due to the post-glacial isostatic rebound of Hudson Bay, of which there is no doubt. But the world is not a problem with a single solution. It is likely that some elevated beaches even in Hudson Bay represent ephemeral sealevel rises also. For the purposes of the story, I’m sticking to the sea, rather than the land, rose here.

Leave a Reply