Snow In Connecticut

Someone didn’t believe that there is two feet of snow here. This is the view out my hotel window this morning in Danbury, Connecticut.

About Tony Heller

Just having fun
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Snow In Connecticut

  1. MikeTheDenier says:

    Photoshop nonsense!!!! 🙂

  2. Latitude says:

    What is going on here?

    I go to bed, wake up, and whole world has gone more crazy………..

    Anthony decides to do some stupid, divisive, and distracting thumbs up thing…

    Willis has some epiphany, says it’s not about him, then proceeds to tell his whole life story….making it all about him

    Judith has lost control of her blog………..

    and the warmcold has Steven snowed it!

    • suyts says:

      Lat…..I agree…….lol, the revenge of warmcold!

      Your comments towards Willis, Anthony and Judith……….all spot on.

      Anthony, you see the difference between that and a thumbs up?

    • suyts says:

      lol, I think Anthony took away the thumb thingy.

      • Latitude says:

        Well isn’t that the warmies argument…

        …it’s science by consensus/vote

        Funny true story
        One of the biggest breakthroughs in marine science…
        …was discovered by a boat mechanic just observing something

        …the SCIENTISTS had it all wrong

      • suyts says:

        Yeh, warmies think we can vote science to truth. Personally, IMO, the thumb thingy (I’ve used in entirely different comment places) is only of value in a flame war.

        Your reference to the boat mechanic is familiar, but I can’t quite bring it to recall….

    • Latitude says:

      ok, let me tweak your memory

      Frank Millero – Chemical Oceanography (the text book)

      Everglades Restoration

      …and the fact that water can not flow west to east

      and that there are anoxic iron eating bacteria

  3. Latitude says:

    Steve, you like these old articles..
    …here’s one about growing citrus in the US

    Who would have believed that in the early 1800’s, there were citrus groves as far north as South Carolina….
    …now all we hear about is the Florida freezes killing the citrus

    http://citrus.forumup.org/about4961-citrus.html

  4. Tony Duncan says:

    I made a rough calculation that I have 1,000 cubic feet of snow piled up around my house from snowplowing, My weeping birch, which is about 8 ft tall is almost completely covered.

    • Robb says:

      Hey Tony,

      Haven’t seen you round these parts in a while. What no snark about how CT is no the globe? Don’t tell me you’re coming around! 😉

      1000 cu ft of snow is quite a change from the weather in VT from the last time we spoke.

      I know you’re one of the few pro-AGW folks that actually appreciate data no matter what side of the debate it comes from, so I thought you might find this image interesting.

      Cheers!
      Robb

      • suyts says:

        Well, IDK if Tony is appreciative of the graph, but I am. Particularly, the wind speed graph. It kinda puts a half grin/half sneer on my face for a minute or two. Apparently, additional energy in our climate system isn’t expressed in the wind….. at least not in Vt.

      • Robb says:

        I noticed the drop in wind speed too. Clearly evidence of more extreme conditions. lol

      • Tony Duncan says:

        Robb,

        I am around. Just very busy now, and do not have time for the long convoluted dinner conversation we used to have.

        I am not PRO AGW. I actually think it is not a good thing, and hope that consequences of GHG will be less than predicted by most mainstream climate scientists (so I would like to think Spencer Christie and Lindzen are right).
        I am waiting for peer reviewed explanations that are consistent and survive critical examination.

      • Robb says:

        Now that’s the Tony I’ve come to appreciate! Nice turn of phrase. I not only hope Lindzen is correct, but suspect he is. (in the fact that 3°C +-1°C is way too high a sensitivity).

        No comment on the graphic? I thought you were interested in the VT temperature trend from an earlier conversation we had. Oh and from another conversation we had (I think our first) about the state of the Arctic Ice. Do you remember the football field graphic I posted (refresher)

        We sort of minced words as to whether a 10% difference in ice cover was significant. Well it turns out that in the early 70s satellite data was showing we had an extra 12% of ice. (Science 22 February 1974) Just find that tidbit interesting considering all the talk of how much less ice there is since 79.

        Now as far as “ peer reviewed explanations that are consistent and survive critical examination” I tend to think that the “Natural Variability” crowd has the right idea. I’m sure you’ve read Two Natural Components of the Recent Climate Change The author, Syun-Ichi Akasofu, is an ISI most cited scientist and has 16 scientific awards since 1976 .(he’s no crank)

        You should also check out the IARC website. Especially their work on Multidecadal Variability In The Arctic and North Atlantic Climate System.

  5. L Nettles says:

    There are still orange lemon and bananna trees growing in South Carolina but not commercially. George and Pinks on Edistio Island still grow and sell a few grapefruit.

  6. Tufty says:

    In the UK, even the BBC is reporting crop losses due to unusually cold weather.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-lincolnshire-12592105

  7. A President that is concerned about global warming?

    His personal trainer from Chicago flying back and forth every week from Chicago to Washington:

    http://washingtonexaminer.com/blogs/beltway-confidential/2011/02/obamas-jetset-fitness-trainer-helps-shed-pounds-adds-ozone

  8. suyts says:

    A totally unrelated, yet deliciously ironic

    http://www.examiner.com/strange-news-in-national/former-gainesville-madd-president-arrested-for-dui

    AAHAHAHHHAHAHAAHHAHAHAHAHAAAAAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA

    • suyts says:

      I’m having a beer on that one!!!!

    • suyts says:

      It was a puzzle for me……..I considered this event and its meaning. I took a long draw from the bottle of light beer I was sipping on. I wondered, will anyone notice? How many lives has her advocacy consummately altered? Will her fate be more, less, or the same as she has advocated?? This left me so deep in thought; I almost missed my turn.

  9. Scarlet Pumpernickel says:

    http://www.heraldsun.com.au/lifestyle/the-other-side/florida-police-uncover-concealed-cocaine-in-cyclists-bum/story-e6frfhk6-1226013998673

    Guess what the air pollution that’s as bad as cocaine is not killing cyclists, it’s because they put it up their bum!

  10. John Silver says:

    That’s one of the worst photographs ever. It proves something but not what you set out to prove.

Leave a Reply